A week from now we’ll be headed south, on our way to Charleston and Savannah to enjoy some relaxation, history, she-crab soup, and mint juleps.  But in the meantime, here’s what’s been going on …

Work has been the usual mix of mind-numbingly boring transactions mixed with a sprinkling of unstable and eccentric patrons:

The Spanish Civil War Guy still comes in periodically, but he usually chooses not to deal with me and goes to one of my colleagues instead.  Ever since he told me that our staff were “fucking incompetent” several years ago I haven’t been willing to do him any favors.

Mr. Mensa will ask me questions, half of which will have solved themselves by the time I walk over to his terminal (hint: if you keep creating documents that are hundreds of pages long, then yes, they will take longer than usual to open).  The other half are things that leave me bewildered, saying things like, “What do you MEAN, your email won’t let you log out?”

The Cat Lady still comes in, sometimes alone and sometimes with covered carriers which might or might not contain cats.  She then calls us over to help with one thing (like a print job), but once you walk over to help you get sucked in by her gravitational pull and suddenly she’s telling you her views on Hillary Clinton, or showing you the personal documents that have been emailed to her, or showing you a picture of a guy who claims that he’s her brother but couldn’t possibly be because of the shape of his eyes.

The Creepy Old Flirt is at it again.  Last week he said to Betsy, “You’re so efficient.  No, first you are pretty, THEN you are efficient!”  And that’s the kind of thing we dream of hearing … right, ladies?

We checked in on my brother yesterday, and when I was walking through the kitchen I peeked in his freezer.  By which I mean ONE of his freezers, because let’s not forget the standing freezer in the living room which my mother had us buy because there wasn’t room for both of their food anymore.  Anyway, he had FIVE QUARTS of ice cream and THIRTY Italian ices.  I should probably mention that my brother lives alone and is not in the habit of hosting ice cream socials.  Oh, and I also noticed a pile of newspapers he’d put on the floor of my mother’s room and spoke to him about recycling them.  I know that my brother has great hoarding potential, but dammit, it’s not gonna happen if I can help it.  Of course, “if I can help it” is an intangible thing.  Because if I had any say in things, there wouldn’t have been even more packages of newly-purchased DVDs in his room.  *SIGH*

In happier news, because of my boyfriend’s summer school schedule we’ve been able to spend more of our weekends together.  That means we’ve been able to eat out at exotic locales: Raceway Diner sign Then today we went out to Hawk’s place for a Meatapalooza experience!  We tried out our new Waze app to get there (D. recommended we get it for our drive down south, and this was our first big test run).  The app was very helpful in getting us to faster routes and showing us real-time traffic hazards, and I earned us some points by reporting a few hazards myself!  After you’ve used the app for at least 100 miles you can customize your avatar, which is how we ended up on the road with fellow Wazers that looked like zombies, ninjas, cats, etc.: Waze Then we arrived, and it was time for meat, meat, and more meat: Meatapalooza (Hidden under the hamburger bun: even more meat!)

We also played a rousing game of Exploding Kittens.  I backed them on Kickstarter, and this week my package arrived! Exploding Kittens Well, technically I got one regular deck because I thought I would play it with my teens this year, and I also got one NSFW deck in case I was going to play with grownups.  And clearly, this was a grownup game … Playing Exploding Kittens Anyway, we had lots of fun and the game was a hoot!

The rest of the week I’ll be tying up some more loose ends, running programs, catching up with a doctor’s appointment, dealing with website issues, and having a book committee meeting.  But after all that is done, it’s mint julep city for me!

