The reception was held at the Villa Barone Hilltop Manor, which looks fairly ordinary from the outside but once you get inside you’ll find some fancy amenities.  I was especially impressed by the big basket of complimentary “emergency supplies” in the ladies’ room:

Bathroom Basket

I mean, deodorant, powder, hair products, pantyhose …?  VERY civilized!

Then the cocktail hour was held outdoors in a gigantic terrace area:

Cocktail Hour Panorama

The food was lovely, and there was WAY too much of it.  We could have had a full meal in the cocktail hour alone!  Then we went indoors to the ballroom where there was more food and dancing, with lots of loud music and a very gung-ho DJ.  Okay, I would have preferred that he dialed his energy level back a few notches.  His all-too-frequent demands for us to make some noise were increasingly irritating, and if I heard him yell, “Let me hear you SCREAM!” one more time I was going to attack him with my sorbet spoon.

Luckily I was at a table with my boyfriend and a lot of people his age or older, so we were not behaving like a bunch of 20-year-olds at a rave.  We were one of the quieter tables, and that was fine with me.  We were close to the door so I could escape to the restroom when the music got too loud (or when the DJ tried to get EVERYONE on the dance floor).  And in between the musical interludes we got to talk about the kinds of things that older people (and I) enjoy talking about, like great old movies, terrible old movies, and Perry Mason.  Plus, since this was a wedding of the Italian-American persuasion with plenty of people with colorful nicknames, my boyfriend and I got to have several entertaining conversations along these lines:

Boyfriend: Okay, that guy at the end of the table is Bobby Roach.

Me: And you call him Bobby Roach because he’s an exterminator, right?

Boyfriend: Right.  And the guy I was just talking to is Mikey Bugs.

Me:  Uh … are Bobby Roach and Mikey Bugs related?

Boyfriend: (laughs) No, but that’s a good question.

Me: So, why is Mikey Bugs called Mikey Bugs?

Boyfriend: Well, his dad was JOHNNY Bugs.

Me: (sighs) Okay, so why was Johnny Bugs called Johnny Bugs?

Boyfriend: I have no idea.

Any time there’s a get-together with my boyfriend’s friends from “the neighborhood,” there are plenty of stories like this to go around.  This guy got his nickname because he always ordered veal cutlets.  This guy got his nickname because he looked like one of the Bowery Boys.  Etc., etc., etc.

Anyway, the reception ran much later than we expected.  Like, the wedding cake was being served at 11:30 pm and THEN all of the tables of desserts came out!  Complete with freshly-blowtorched creme brulees:

Blowtorching Creme Brulees

And fountains … and glowing ice sculptures …

Viennese Hour

And Jeez, I was ready to curl up and go to sleep by that point.  I mean, I got up to take some pictures, but it was physically impossible for me to eat anything else.  Now, if they’d had “to go” boxes next to those desserts, it would have been a different story!

Anyway, by the time we got out of there it was around midnight.  Then we had to drive several guests home, then we had to get home ourselves and find parking, so by the time we went to sleep it was about 2 am.  So it was a fun but very exhausting night.

