Last night when I came back from my YA Book Club meeting where we’d been discussing Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda over food and drinks, I discovered that our bathroom looked a little different than I remembered:

First View of the Ceiling

So THAT was odd.

I called my boyfriend in to look at it, and he deduced that there was a water leak that was bringing down part of our ceiling.  He went to find the super, who told him that a pipe had burst two floors above us.  Between last night and this morning about half of our bathroom ceiling fell in and we had a MAJOR flood.

Ceiling 1

Ceiling 2

Seriously.  It looked like something out of a horror movie.  You know, the one where there’s an evil spirit trapped in the house, and you can see its shape bulging through the paint?  Kinda like that.  Oh, except this evil spirit was very wet, and it also smelled weird.

Anyway, we had an adventurous few hours today, during which we got wet every time we had to use the toilet, and getting in and out of the shower was much more challenging than usual.  I went out on several shopping expeditions for things like paper towels (we ran through our backup supply) and a new mop (the old one broke).  They finally fixed the problems upstairs and our super has now removed the damaged paint and plaster from our bathroom.  Now it just has to dry out for a while before the repairs can begin.

Scraped Ceiling Starting to Dry

All of this is to build up to the OTHER part of the story, which is that we both took today off so that we could go to a wedding!  But … um … the wedding itself is taking place RIGHT NOW, and we’re still home because we’ve been dealing with the chaos.  However, we will be attending the reception several hours from now, which will be taking place at a catering hall upstate.

Highlights of the day so far have included going to Target because they had many of the things I needed, including a mop to deal with our flood and a strapless bra to wear under my fancy dress.  Then putting on the fancy dress and realizing that it leaves little to the imagination as well as no room for a pedometer.  Oh, well.  I’ll just have to cram it into my itty-bitty purse instead and see how that works.

So now I’m assuming that the worst part of our day is over, and we can only go onward and upward from here!

