On my free days I’ve been getting in a lot of walking outdoors, and I’ve got the sunburn and the sore muscles to prove it.  Over the last few weeks my boyfriend and I went to the Storm King Art Center in upstate NY (highly recommended for fresh air and culture!), and I went on several extended walks by myself.  One of them started in South Ferry and then continued up into Battery Park City and Hudson River Park, and the other one was through Inwood Hill Park and Fort Washington Park.

I don’t get to do as much walking when I’m at work (or I start to, but then my pesky patrons ask me questions which bring me back to the computer at the service desk).  So in order to make my step goals I’ve been lengthening my commute home at the end of the day by choosing to use train stations that are one or two stops away from my intended destination.  The fact that the train station that’s ten blocks away from my home just HAPPENS to be near a place that sells great burgers and shakes probably shouldn’t be held against me …

I’m getting ready to go to BookCon this weekend, so I’m firing up the librarian part of my brain.  And, you know, getting ready to pick up lots of book-themed free samples.  BTW, when I was visiting their website today to see what kinds of stuff I’ll find at the event, I came across one of the strangest weapons policies I’d ever imagined:

The following items are forbidden at BookCon:

  • Functional firearms (including air soft guns, BB guns, cap guns, paintball guns and pellet guns)
  • Realistic replica firearms (including reproduction, fake or toy guns that can be confused for functional firearms)
  • Functional projectile weapons (including blow guns, crossbows, long bows, silly string, slingshots, water balloons and water guns)
  • Sharpened metal-bladed weapons (including axes, daggers, hatches, knives, kunai, shuriken, swords, sword canes and switch blades)
  • Explosives (including firecrackers and fireworks)
  • Chemical weapons (including mace and pepper spray)
  • Blunt weapons (including brass knuckles, clubs and nunchaku)
  • Hard prop weapons (including props made of metal, fiberglass and glass)
  • Instruments that cause excessive noise levels like vuvuzelas, grenade whistles and grenade horns
  • Whips
  • Aerosol mustard

What the hell?  Vuvuzelas?  Aerosol mustard?  I’ll admit, these are all things I didn’t imagine could turn up at a book-themed convention.  Then again, if the con is being marketed as “where storytelling and pop culture collide,” I suppose that these loud / painful / unusual weapons could fall under the “pop culture” umbrella.

Speaking of books, I’ve been part way through several books for some time now, including (but not limited to) Surviving Santiago by Lyn Miller-Lachmann, We All Looked Up by Tommy Wallach, and The Living by Matt De La Pena.  Last night (well, technically this morning) I finally managed to FINISH a book, which was The Alex Crow by Andrew Smith.  It took me a little while to wrap my head around it and unravel the storylines, but by 1:00am I’d finished the book and understood its awesomeness.

Pictures to come, and more comprehensive book reviews to come.  I mean, eventually, when I have some time to process and unwind for a little while.  Oh, and on a related note, I do have a week off in June, so that might be a good time to catch up with … you know … everything …

