How to fill a 3-day weekend?  Well, since I’m participating in a fitness challenge through my library, every day is going to require a certain amount of walking.  That makes my fancy new pedometer happy and makes my imaginary land that I can populate through my fancy new pedometer happy.

I let my boyfriend pick our walking location today, and he suggested that we take the train downtown, walk north for a while, and then get back on the train and come back home.  We got off the train at 14th Street, walked north for a long time while occasionally making east and west side trips for shopping and food, and finally got back on the train at 72nd Street.  After that walk we came home, where I went to lie down for a “short nap” that ended up being three hours long.  Then I woke up and we had dinner (a ham and cheese quiche we’d picked up at a farmer’s market downtown).  And now I’m up, and will probably be up for a while.  Which means that it’s time to post some pictures!

We were retracing our steps after the 9th Avenue International Food Festival from last weekend and decided to stop for brunch at a place that looked busy and appetizing called Southern Hospitality.  I joked before we walked in that I’d like to try a BBQ version of Eggs Benedict (I’m a sucker for Eggs Benedict), and — whaddaya know — they had one!

SH Brunch Options

My boyfriend chose the Big as Texas Breakfast Platter and I ordered the Southern Benedict.  He had a beer and I had a bellini, but they also had a big selection of strong and fancy drinks that I would love to try some time that I’m not in brunch mode:

SH Booze Options

BTW, I had the option of choosing a single bellini or a “bottomless” one.  I chose the single, which turned out to be a great decision because this was honestly the strongest bellini I’ve ever had before.  And while we waited for our food to arrive, we listened to live bluegrass music.  Oh, didn’t I mention that every Saturday and Sunday they have a Bluegrass Booze Brunch?  Well, it was a surprise to us, too!

Bellini and Bluegrass

Then the food came, and we had nice big portions that definitely lived up to our expectations:

Big as Texas Breakfast Platter

Big as Texas Breakfast Platter

Southern Benedict

Southern Benedict

Then we left and continued our walk, which led to the subway, and coming home, and sleeping, and dinner, and being awake right now.  No idea yet where we’ll be spending our next few days walking around, but I’m hoping for some more interesting locales and some more great stops for shopping and food.  I should also have time to upload some more pictures this weekend, so stay tuned!

