Today I took on a unique challenge.  My boyfriend and I went to my brother’s place to give him a cooking lesson, as per his request.  This involved going through all of my recipes to find out which ones used ingredients that he will actually eat and were comparatively simple.

We ended up making Chicken and Broccoli Alfredo, which involved several different culinary skills, like chopping broccoli, cooking pasta, checking to see if chicken cubes are fully cooked … and measuring tablespoons of butter.  It turns out that my brother “never noticed” that there are markings on each stick of butter that show you the tablespoon / cup measurements.  I only made one sarcastic comment during the entire visit, and it was in response to the butter thing.  Oof!

So that went fairly well, by which I mean I let my boyfriend do most of the talking and I only made that ONE sarcastic comment.  We followed up the cooking lesson in which we demonstrated the benefits of home cooking by going to Wendy’s to have chicken nuggets, chili, fries and soda for lunch.

No, the irony is not lost on me.

After we left my brother’s place we did some shopping at Costco (to buy things we NEEDED, as per the American dream), and then came home.  I recorded a podcast, we had dinner, and I did some prep work for a bunch of class visits I’ll be doing over the next few days.  By the end of the week things will slow down, but it’s going to be a little nuts between now and then.

