Since it’s been over a week since I’ve posted any food pictures, here are some mouth-watering photos for you to enjoy. They’re from my recent visits to Kung Fu Little Steamed Buns Ramen, Baked by Melissa, and Mel’s Burger Bar, plus a home-cooked meal that spoke to my heart.Kung Fu Little Steamed Buns RamenNapkin from Kung Fu Little Steamed Buns Ramen

Kung Fu Steamed Pork BunsKung Fu Steamed Pork Buns.  I think I’ve heard of these before, but then they were called “soup dumplings.”  You have to put the whole thing in your mouth before you start chewing, because the inside of the bun has both solid and liquid components.  If you poke one the wrong way, as I did here, the soup part will start leaking out before you can fully enjoy it!

Shanghai Pan Fried Pork BunsShanghai Pan Fried Pork Buns.  This is closer to the kind of pork bun you’d usually find in a Chinese restaurant, only cooler and more awesome.  These took extra time to make, but it was worth the wait.

Buns and Dumplings For DinnerBuns and dumplings for dinner!  Yeah, after going to the restaurant for lunch, I ordered more food to bring home for dinner.  And I went a little … nuts.  Pictured here are one of my leftover Shanghai pan fried pork buns, a new order of Kung Fu steamed pork buns, steamed chicken dumplings, Peking duck buns, and Shanghai spring rolls.  Not pictured (because there wasn’t any more room on the counter) is an order of beef fried noodles.  Yes, I ordered too much stuff, but on the plus side this made several meals for us!

Smushed CupcakesI was very excited to try some mini cupcakes from Baked by Melissa, but unfortunately I was carrying so much other stuff home (all of those buns and dumplings), that I ended up transferring these to my shoulder bag.  Where the box ended up tipping over.  And most of the cupcakes fell out of their little nooks and got smushed.  Whoops!  On the plus side, I can confirm that smushed cupcakes are still delicious.

California Burger and Onion RingsCalifornia Burger and onion rings at Mel’s Burger Bar.  Delightful, filling, and satisfying my avocado needs.

Hot Open Roast Beef SandwichHot open roast beef sandwich.  This is the kind of thing I love to order at diners, but no one has ever made me one … until now!  My boyfriend made a roast beef the night before, and then this night he cut slices off the roast and then heated them up in beef gravy and served them over white bread with mashed potatoes.  Now THIS is comfort food!

