I put a lot of stuff on the back burner while I was preparing for my mother’s memorial service.  But now that’s over, so …

I’m preparing for some class visits to a local high school on Tuesday.

I got a call from a colleague at another branch about some details of this year’s summer reading club.  Which is odd because this person had actually attended the training sessions about the summer reading club but I hadn’t.  I mean, I appreciate that people think I know stuff, but STILL …

And speaking of people thinking I know stuff, I got confirmation this morning that I’m going to be co-chairing a YA book committee soon.  I must try to rule responsibly.

My last free day was spent going back and forth from my place to my mother’s place because the people from the Cerebral Palsy foundation who were supposed to pick up her used wheelchairs from my brother at 10:30 in the morning rescheduled for 3:00 in the afternoon.  On the plus side, they took all of her old wheelchairs, her walker, her cane, and a bunch of other stuff.  The living room is a lot roomier now.

I took home one of the older photo albums from my mom’s place containing her parents’ wedding photos.  I never have been and will never be that glamorous in my life.  That being said, I thought it would be cool to bring to work and show off.

I need to send out thank-you notes to people who attended or contributed to the memorial service.

I need to get a new computer.

I need to migrate all the episodes of my podcast to a new location.

I need to move to a larger apartment.  And hey!  In related news, I’m going to be looking at an apartment this weekend!

I got a message from my lawyer’s office (OMG, I feel like such a grownup when I say that!)  When I called back tonight, we discussed the contract I’d just returned, and then he asked me how I was doing with the list of my mother’s accounts.  My first thought was … Wait.  Didn’t you say I could take my time doing that?  But I DIDN’T say that.  Instead I said that I’d been busy with her memorial service, which was true.  Then he said that he needs a list of all of her accounts — banks / stock trading / etc. with info about which accounts have beneficiaries listed and which don’t in order for him to know which things have to pass through the estate.

Urgh.

Okay, deadlines are good.  Deadlines will make me work.

