Earlier this week, the fourth person in the course of a month told me that I look like I’m losing weight.  I’m starting to think that it’s true, and it would certainly explain why my clothes have been feeling looser lately.  Since I’m not officially on a diet, I’m assuming it’s tied into this perimenopause thing.  But I can’t figure out if I’m losing weight because my appetite has changed, because my restless energy has been driving me to walk more, or because my body has decided that since I’m not going to have children I won’t need as much cushioning fat as I did before.  In any case, I’m going to need to get some new clothes soon.

I spoke at a young adult training session that actually had some practical applications, including having the audience participate in creating booklists:

Creating Booklists

In addition, one of the best things about getting out of the branch and going to meetings is getting to go shopping on the way back — I got cupcakes for my coworkers from Crumbs and lunch for myself from Hale and Hearty Soup.  Plus, I got to see exotic things I don’t get to see every day …

Spongebob Mailbox

Saturday was my day off, but since I needed someone from Verizon to come check my phone lines and since they give you such an enormous window of time when they’re going to show up, Saturday became “Wait For the Verizon Guy to Show Up” day.  Which meant that it also became “Make a Brisket” day, so that all that time sitting around the house twiddling my thumbs wouldn’t go to waste.  I tried out a new recipe this time, which was an Atlanta Brisket including ketchup, Coca-Cola, and … instant tapioca!

Working On the Atlanta Brisket Recipe

So it was an unusual recipe, but it came out well in the end.  We really enjoyed it, and I’ve already started sharing the leftovers.

Oh, and while I was spending my free day waiting for the Verizon guy and making that brisket, my branch was going to hell in a handbasket.  Because two people called out sick, which meant that HALF THE STAFF was gone.  So Betsy had a Terrible Horrible No Good Very Bad Day at work, and we’re going to be spending a lot of Monday playing catch-up for all the Saturday stuff that didn’t get done.

Today I visited my mother in the morning, and then my boyfriend and I went out to brunch and walked around the Muscota Marsh for a while …

Muscota Marsh Dock

Muscota Marsh Panorama

Tonight was spent winding down at home with the cat, who has been making himself at home sleeping on my desk lately, so I have to work around him:

Kitty on the Desk

I got some reading done (The Edge of Falling by Rebecca Serle), caught up with some episodes of The Andy Daly Podcast Pilot Project, we watched the latest episode of Cosmos and now we’re watching the 1939 film Jesse James (starring Tyrone Power, Henry Fonda, and a YOUNG John Carradine!) on Turner Classic Movies.  Tonight I have to do some Tumblr updating, and then I’m going to bed.

I’ll be thinking good thoughts for tomorrow’s schedule, which I hopefully won’t have to redo from scratch …

