So far I’ve watched a couple of movies — The Girl and and Much Ado About Nothing, both of which I highly recommend.  I’ve also been doing a bunch of reading — I’m partway through Attempting Normal by Marc Maron and Johnny Carson by Henry Bushkin, which I also highly recommend.  Oh, and I just finished reading this enormous and enlightening 1978 article from The New Yorker about Johnny Carson that Bushkin referenced in his book.

I’ve also just finished playing through the sequel to the amazing, mysterious, suspenseful, and puzzle-solving game The Room, which is called (of course) The Room 2.  I’d say more about it now, but I think I’ll include it in that video game post I’m working on.  That being said, if you have an iPad you should definitely get this game because it’s FRIGGING AWESOME.

Over the course of the next week, I’m going to read some more books (finishing the grown-up stuff and moving to my YA pile) and watch some more movies.  I’m also going to be recording two podcasts — a shorter one by myself that I still need to write and a longer one with some friends of mine which is more of a relaxed conversational thing.  I have a lunch engagement, several dinner engagements, and a possible movie engagement if my Friend With Connections can get me into a screening he’ll be attending.

I’m also going in to work at least once or maybe twice.  One time will be for me to drop off / check out stuff on my card and my mother’s card and to drop off some fancy sweets for the staff.  The other time will be to help out if we have a staffing issue that day and the branch needs extra coverage.  We’re still waiting to hear back about whether that day’s schedule will mildly suck or REALLY suck, which will help me with my decision.

We were supposed to go out to New Jersey for a Geek Patrol day today, but part of the plan fell apart due to illness and the rest of the plan fell apart because my boyfriend felt that the roads were too icy and dangerous to drive on.  So that plan ended up transforming into one of those upcoming dinner arrangements, instead.  And now we have a boatload of desserts in the fridge that we have to get out of the house ASAP before we eat them ourselves.

As for walking around and taking pictures in the city, I don’t have definitive plans yet.  As for food shopping (yes, there’s ALWAYS food shopping on my vacation), some of my stops are being guided by articles my boyfriend keeps sending me with mouth-watering titles like New York Quintessentials: 12 Classic Pizza Joints You Should Know and America’s 35 Best Hot Dogs.  My appetite has been pretty screwy over the last month or so, which is one of the topics I’ll be discussing at my doctor’s appointment later this week, but surely I can always make room for one slice of pizza or one hot dog, right?

Anyway, I’ll also be going to my chiropractor for my monthly visit and then seeing someone who works in my “regular doctor’s” office who should be able to diagnose my recent health issues and then give me some natural/nutritional guidance rather than giving me a prescription that will “fix” me but might have side effects that cause different problems.  Of course, if it turns out that a prescription is the way to go, then I’ll follow that path.  Because me getting better would be an improvement for me and everyone around me.  And hey, if medicine will make me less likely to hit someone in the head with a frying pan, so much the better!  Uhm … not that I’m saying that would EVER happen, or anything …

