My boyfriend and I exchanged presents this morning, and while many of my presents were lovely and fancy (bathrobes, earrings, headphones, boots, books, and a snazzy new handbag), I was especially impressed by a present that would probably seem ordinary to most people:

Gashlycrumb Tinies 1

Yes, that’s right.  It’s a mug.  Granted, it features Edward Gorey’s The Gashlycrumb Tinies, a gruesome rhyming alphabet that I have loved since I was a kid and which I can still recite from memory.

In fact, I remember sharing it with my friends when we were in high school, and our personal favorite line was “N is for Neville who died of ennui.”  I mean, it used the super-cool word “ennui,” and the accompanying picture was especially excellent, showing a bored little boy staring out of a giant window.  In fact, we were so enamored of this reference that when the word “ennui” came up as a possible vocabulary word that we might have to use in a sentence, we all planned to use the sentence “N is for Neville who died of ennui.”  EVEN THOUGH it would have meant losing a point on the test!  (For those of you waiting on the edge of your seats, the word “ennui” was not one of the selected words, so we never used that sentence, so we never lost that point!)

Anyway, the proof that my boyfriend occasionally listens to my stories was on the other side of the mug:

Gashlycrumb Tinies 2

Yay!  It’s Neville!!!

Anyway, Dear Readers, I hope that each of you have something to celebrate today.  It could be a big present or a small present, or a pleasant interaction with another human being, or a moment of peace, or just a relaxing day off.  Merry Christmas!!!

