When I went to Rite Aid to pick up some Christmas gift bags, I saw something unusual in their refrigerated section:

Mexican Pepsi

That’s right — Mexican Pepsi!  I like Pepsi,  I like Pepsi Throwback, and I like Mexican Coke, so I decided to try it out.  I did like the sugar vs. cornsyrup taste that was reminiscient of Pepsi Throwback, but there was … can I say an “unusual finish”?  I’m not quite sure how to describe it, but just after you swallow it’s like there’s a weird snap.  In your mouth.  Yeah, I definitely don’t know how to describe it.

Then yesterday I was walking through Riverdale on my way back from my mother’s place (it was a less traumatic visit than usual, thanks for asking).  I stopped in at a Russian store to see if I could pick up some exotic foodstuffs to put in her Christmas bag.  I ended up getting some stuff for her and some stuff for my boyfriend which I’m also curious to try:

Russian Shopping Expedition

Now, some of those items deserve closer examination …

Canned Beef Product

Here we have an example of the “meat in a can” foodgroup.  My mother LOVES this kind of stuff, and whenever I’m at a store that sells Eastern European food I try to get her some.  I’m not sure if she loves this stuff because she used to look forward to CARE packages while living in a displaced persons camp or just because she craves nitrates like a salt vampire. But no matter what the reason, it’s always a safe bet for the Christmas bag.  Oh, and in case you were wondering how long food like this will keep, this can will expire in 2017.

Now let’s get to the weird sweets department.

Santa With a Bunny in His Bag

I’m guessing that this is just hollow chocolate (at least that’s what it feels like).  But the unusual part is the design.  Why does Santa Claus have a bunny rabbit in his bag?  And is that an egg in the bag, too?  Does Russia merge Christmas and Easter in a “Nightmare Before Christmas” kinda way?

Mysterious Dog-Themed Treat

And here’s something from the REALLY weird sweets department.  I have absolutely no idea what this is.  I don’t know what the dog is holding, or what its expression means, or what it’s standing on (a star? a satellite?)  This packaging doesn’t have a word of English on it, so it will remain a mystery until my boyfriend finds the courage to open the wrapper and try it out.

