This morning I tried a morale-boosting exercise using hair care products.

This sounds doofy, right?  Okay, I’m totally with you.  Just hear me out anyway.

Every day I deal with a hundred irritations, ranging from minor to catastrophic.  There’s the construction going on in my neighborhood right now, and the sound of jackhammering that I hear all morning or (in the case of my free days) ALL DAY makes me kind of nuts after awhile.  Then I leave home to go to work, where I might deal with random high-pitched alarms going off at irregular intervals, adult patrons being snarky, teen patrons being loud, and kid patrons who get so combative while they use the computers that they start slapping each other in the face.  I’ll let you guess which of those things just happened yesterday.

So anyway, one of the best things to lift my mood are lovely scents, and some of my favorite shampoos have scents that stay with me all day.  So that even when I’m feeling irritated, I’m surrounded by the smell of lemons, limes, seaweed, oranges, brandy, etc. and they can help me feel a little less lousy.

With that in mind, this morning I used Burt’s Bees Avocado Butter Pre-Shampoo Hair Treatment, followed by a generous scoop of Lush’s Big Shampoo.

Avocado ButterBig Shampoo

So here’s hoping that if my day takes a downward turn, I’ll be able to lean back for a moment and imagine myself frolicking on the beach with a Carmen Miranda hat on my head.  That should work, right?

Carmen Miranda hat

