20130821-170116.jpg

When I knew that we were coming to Acadia National Park, I visited their website and checked out the “virtual tour” option. That’s how I learned about the existence of Baker Island, a small island that is located three miles from the enormous Mt. Desert Island but is still part of Acadia National Park.

It looked both beautiful and historic, so it was on my short list of places I wanted to visit on my trip. Anyway, it was a fascinating visit, and when we reached the Dance Floor rock formation at the southern end of the island I knew that this was one of the most beautiful places I’d ever visited in my life. Even my panoramic shots can’t do it justice.

We ate our lunches there staring out at the ocean, and when the tour was ending we slowly and reluctantly made our way back to the boat that was waiting to take us back to Bar Harbor.

