I love to cook, but since my boyfriend usually has more energy at the end of the day than I do he ends up doing most of the cooking.  But today he wasn’t going to be able to make dinner because he was going to a memorial service, so I offered to make dinner with my mind leaning towards comfort food.

Since we still had several ears of corn left from yesterday’s expedition to the farmer’s market, I started looking through my recipe files to see how I could use them.  I settled on Colombian Chicken, Corn, and Potato Stew because it incorporated several key ingredients that offer me comfort when I’m feeling down (namely corn, potatoes, and STEW).

I followed the recipe very closely except for one big change and one little change.  The recipe says to cut the corn cobs into 1-inch pieces, but I cut the kernels off of the cobs instead.  I see the positives and negatives of both methods — I know that including the cobs in the pot would have an impact on both the flavor and texture of the stew.  But I decided to cut off the kernels and throw out the cobs instead, both because I wanted to make it easier to eat and because I wasn’t sure I would be able to cut up the cobs like that.  But in the future, I might end up cutting off the kernels and then adding the cobs to the pot while the dish cooks to get that extra flavor and get the best of both worlds.

Oh, and the small change I made was using baby Yukon Gold potatoes because C-Town didn’t have full-sized Yukon Golds.  I just cut up each one into four or more pieces, and I left them unpeeled.

That being said, it came out very well, and I got to use one of my favorite happy kitchen tools:

Corncob Tool

See?  It’s happy!  Okay, right NOW it kind of looks like it’s crying because I just washed it.  But it’s one of my favorite kitchen tools because it’s really good at cutting kernels off of corn cobs easily (and without the added danger of wounding yourself).

Anyway, when the dish was ready, the basic recipe looked like this:

Stew

And then you had the option to add in some “accompaniments,” so I added some heavy cream and some chopped cilantro to my portion.

This recipe is kind of paradoxical — I think I would appreciate this dish the most in the fall or winter (especially on a cold night), but it’s probably best to make it in the summer when fresh corn is in season.  Well, this recipe makes a lot, so I’m definitely going to put a couple of portions in the freezer.  But whether or not they’ll last until the weather gets cold or I break down before then and eat them earlier is anyone’s guess …

