Last night I finished reading City of Bones by Cassandra Clare, a suspenseful fantasy book that is coming out as a movie later this summer.  It had characters I grew to love and an exciting ending, so I reserved a copy of the next book in the series.

Today we went downtown to finally see Star Trek: Into Darkness which was very cool and exciting, if slightly more unbelievable that I might have expected.  On the plus side, if you enjoy movies that feature Benedict Cumberbatch, lens flares, and LOTS of fistfights, you’ll get a kick out of this movie.  On the minus side, the “uncompressed surround sound” in our theater was so overwhelming that I thought it was going to shake my fillings loose.  Seriously, though, I enjoyed the movie but I had a headache when we walked out of the theater.

We had a quick lunch downtown at Five Guys Burgers and Fries, then we came back home for several hours, and THEN we went back out for dinner with the Geek Patrol.  We went to Dinosaur Bar-B-Que in Harlem, where we had some really great food including our first-ever fried green tomatoes!  But seriously, though, most of the dinner was composed of meat, meat, and more meat.  We talked about all kinds of stuff during dinner, including good movies we love because they’re awesome (M, Memento, and The Island) and bad movies we love because … they’re awesome? (Can’t Stop the Music and SHARKNADO!!!)  Then we came home and shared my leftover brisket with the cat (he’ll have my boyfriend’s leftover skirt steak tomorrow).

Whenever things slowed down enough that I could kill some time online, I clicked on the many links my boyfriend has sent me over the last few days (whether these links say more about me or about him is up for debate):

The 7 Most Unintentionally Nightmarish Children’s Characters

6 Kids’ Movies Clearly Made by People Who Hate Children

65 Photos of NYC’s Long-Lost Amusement Parks

Live Like a Genuine Convict at Latvia’s Prison Hotel

Odd Ads From National Geographic Magazine in the 1910’s

10 Movies to Watch If You Loved Sharknado

Tomorrow my boyfriend and I are going our separate ways to deal with our family obligations — my boyfriend is taking his mother shopping, and I’m making my weekly visit to drop off books, DVDs, and food with my mother.  By tomorrow night, we’ll both be back home and ready to decompress.

