The morons in my neighborhood have a long-standing tradition of getting way too many fireworks for Independence Day.  They start shooting them off at night in the weeks leading up to the 4th of July.  Then they shoot them off all that night, later and later until I lose hope of getting any sleep at all.

But last night was an all-new low.  I was lying awake in bed until after 1:00 in the morning listening to the fireworks.  Then I finally fell asleep, but I woke up again around 3:30.  I didn’t realize why I’d woken up until I came back from the bathroom and heard MORE fireworks going off.  I took my iPod Touch over to the window and took pictures of the fireworks going off for a while:

Fireworks 1

Fireworks 2

Fireworks 3

Fireworks 4

Then I took a picture of my alarm clock just to document the fact that I wasn’t hallucinating the whole thing:

An Ungodly Hour

And THEN I went back to sleep yet again.

It was very hard for me to get out of bed this morning.  My body felt like a dead weight.  My boyfriend was wondering why I was walking around like a zombie until I showed him the pictures of the fireworks and the clock.  And then I went to work, where I spent much of my day developing revenge fantasies about certain morons who have nothing better to do than set off fireworks at ungodly hours.

