I spent the morning in Madison Square Park, wandering around taking pictures of the park and the Flatiron building, which reminded me once again that the Flatiron is lovely from far away and SUPER-COOL when you get to see it close up.

Flatiron Building Closeup

Then I went to Eataly, where I bought the stuff I planned to buy — a prime rib sandwich and a pork arista sandwich for tonight’s dinner, and a rotisserie chicken and some roasted potatoes for dinner later this week.  But since there’s so much delicious-looking stuff there, I ALSO ended up buying several kinds of pasta … and figs … and rustic olive bread … and cookies …

Well, on the bright side, I got to use several of those $50 bills I got for Christmas.

Oh, and after eating those sandwiches for dinner tonight, my boyfriend declared that we should go downtown and buy Eataly sandwiches every week.  So based on his response and that of my cat, who spent most of the dinner trying to climb on my boyfriend’s lap to get more handouts, I’d say these sandwiches were a hit.

Anyway, I also got some more practical stuff done today.  I picked up my Flonase prescription, I made an appointment to take the cat to the vet (which conflicts with my chiropractor appointment, which I now need to shift), I went to the supermarket to buy some more ingredients for the short rib recipe I’m going to make tomorrow, and I uploaded some older photos to Flickr.

Right now, I’m catching up with some podcasts and uploading the photos I took today.  Tomorrow will be a stay-at-home day, doing domestic stuff like cooking and laundry.  The end of the week will be filled with medical appointments and a few more shopping and photography expeditions.

