And more importantly, most of the pictures I took were NOT food-related for once!  Okay, so here’s an overview of the places I’ve been lately …

At the end of September, I went to the Medieval Festival at Fort Tryon Park in Inwood.  I went to this festival several times when I was a kid, and a few times as an adult.  There was lots of food, lots of entertainment, lots of costumes, and lots of FIGHTING:

Then the first week of October I had the opportunity to go see the Discovering Columbus exhibit, which consists of a living room that’s been built AROUND the statue of Christopher Columbus that’s located in the middle of Columbus Circle.  You have to make a reservation in advance either through the exhibit’s website or in person on the third floor of the Time Warner Center.  It’s both one of the strangest and coolest things I’ve seen in New York City:

Then we spent a weekend visiting sites through the Open House New York program — we visited the Intrepid museum and the High Line at the Rail Yards in Manhattan, and then we went to the Red Hook Winery in Brooklyn.

I’d been to the Intrepid many times as a kid, but only once or twice as an adult and I never went on a tour before.  Our tour guide was very cool, and we learned a lot of history and heard a lot of stories over the course of an hour.  We got to explore both indoors and outdoors, we got to see the space shuttle, and we spent a lot of time looking at the planes on the flight deck:

Getting to explore a section of the High Line before it opened to the public was a dream come true for me.  Ever since I learned that those elevated train tracks were going to be turned into a park I’ve wanted to go exploring up there.  It was definitely a tour for serious explorers, as everyone who went in had to make a reservation AND sign a waiver beforehand saying that you acknowledged that you were going to be walking through dangerous terrain.  My boyfriend and I each lost our footing several times, I was plucking twigs out of my feet that had poked through my sneakers AND my socks, and my boyfriend (who wore shorts) got one of his shins scratched up.  But I didn’t care about the risks, because getting to go up there was SO FRIGGING COOL:

Then we went to the Red Hook Winery, which was small and in an out-of-the-way location.  But we liked the tour and we loved the wine, so it was definitely a win-win situation for us!

And then this past Thursday I used my professional pass to attend New York Comic Con.  While it had a lot in common with the Medieval Festival (like silver jewelry, corsets, and fairy wings), this convention has an energy all its own.  I always have a good time there, but I always leave exhausted because there’s just SO much stuff to see!

