Went to New York Comic Con today.  Attended several library-themed panels, then wandered around the show room floor for a while, first with some of my library people and then with a podcasting friend of mine.  Filled my tote bag with a lot of free stuff, took a ton of pictures, bought a few things I needed, and also filmed some stuff that might or might not see the light of day.

I’ve been putting the pictures I took during the Open House New York program up on Flickr, and mentally sorting through which ones I could enter in their photography contest in which categories.  Well, it turns out that while in previous years they let you enter photos in different categories — interiors, exteriors, details, and people — this year you can only enter one picture.  ONE.  So now I’m even more confounded than before.  How the hell am I going to pick just ONE picture???  For now, I’m sorting through all of my pictures and occasionally peeking at the competition to see what everyone else is doing.

I’ve been fighting off a cold for the last several days.  Monday and Tuesday I was fighting and losing, but yesterday and today I’ve been fighting and winning.  I think.  In related news, every time I dose myself with zinc my taste buds are completely screwed up afterwards.

I’ve got some more class visits tomorrow morning.  A few weeks ago I sent out an email to a bunch of schools that were interested in scheduling visits, and only one of them wrote me back so far.  So now I’m visiting all of their 7th grade classes, and trying not to lose my voice from all the extra talking I’ve been doing.  I stand in front of that sea of faces, my pockets filled with lozenges, tissues, decongestant pills, and ibuprophen.  I keep sipping from my bottle of Vitamin Water to stave off coughing fits.  Such is the reality of booktalking season.

Next week I have one more class visit, three programs (one of which is huge), and three meetings (one of which is VERY VERY IMPORTANT).  It’s such a mess that it was virtually impossible to schedule a free day, which means that I’m going downtown to one of those meetings DURING my free day.  I suppose I’ll have to pick up dinner at the Shake Shack afterwards just to console myself … Luckily, after next week my schedule will go back to normal.

But in other news … how the hell am I going to pick just ONE picture for that contest?  Argh!!!

