I went to meetings yesterday and today leading up to some presentations we’ll be doing for the higher-ups in a couple of weeks.  Most of my presentation time will be devoted to booktalking.  Surprise!!!  Anyway, I have to do some follow-up work online, but most of the framework is done.  I’ll be glad when the BIG meeting is over, both because then I won’t have to stress out anymore and because all the pre-meeting meetings will stop screwing with my schedule.  I’m looking over the next few weeks and it’s very tricky trying to fit in school visits and basically impossible to fit in my chiropractor’s appointments.  So basically I’m going to be tense and … um … TENSE.

Anyway, now on to the fun stuff.

This weekend I went to the Medieval Festival at Fort Tryon Park, where I took a lot of pictures.

Then this afternoon I went to the Discovering Columbus exhibit, in which you go to the center of Columbus Circle, climb a lot of stairs, and enter the living room that has been constructed around the Christopher Columbus statue (which you’d usually need a zoom lens to see up close).  Honestly, the exhibit is both very cool and very surreal.  They do give you time to relax and hang out if you want — your timed ticket allows you to hang out there for half an hour, where you can find a comfy place to sit and relax / read a book / watch TV if you like.  But basically it’s worth about ten minutes of your time to look at the statue, look at the people looking at the statue, and marvel at the novelty of the fact that YOU’RE IN A FRIGGING LIVING ROOM ABOVE COLUMBUS CIRCLE!  I took lots of pictures there, too.

Then this coming weekend I’m going to be participating in a bunch of Open House New York activities.  I booked two tours on Saturday, and on Sunday we’ll be visiting a couple of sites in Brooklyn if we have access to a car, or in Manhattan if we don’t.  I’m excited that we’re going on a tour of The Intrepid on Saturday morning, and super-duper excited that we’re going on a tour of the next section of the High Line on Saturday afternoon.  And by “the next section” I mean “the section that isn’t open to the public yet.”  Man, I am sooooooo happy about that.  And I am sooooooo going to be wearing comfortable, sturdy, and closed-toed shoes for that tour.  Yay!  And yes, many more photos will be taken there.  I’m also going to enter the photography contest like I have for the last several years.  Let’s see how I do this time around …

Then on Thursday the 11th I’ll be going to New York Comic Con, since they have officially certified me as a professional.  Woo-Hoo!  Needless to say, I will be taking pictures there, as well.

Anyway, I’ve started adding pictures of my travels to Flickr, and I will be putting up pictures here very soon, as well.  Stay tuned!!!

