Thinking about and discussing the Schmuck of the Highest Caliber I dated in college has set me on a very strange emotional path.  Not strange / good, more like strange / “Wow, I’ve known a lot of idiots in my life.  Some of them were related to me, but some of them I chose to be with.  What is WRONG with me?”

On the plus side, my idiot threshold has shifted a lot over the years and now I’m choosing to share my life with people who are (for the most part) kind, honest, and emotionally stable.  On the minus side, being a public librarian, especially one working in the same city where I grew up, I’ve had to encounter some of those idiots from my past again and again.  I wrote a blog post years ago, before this blog existed and I was blogging in a staff-only setting, about what I called my “This is Your Life” experiences in the public library.  I don’t know how many librarians out there have experienced something like that before, but it happened to me multiple times.

This isn’t all I have to say on the subject.  This is more like the root of a future post, in which I’ll examine my thoughts more closely and maybe share an anecdote or two.  Or maybe five or six.  I actually have several other blog posts in the works, including some book reviews for teens and adults.  But I just wanted to let you know that while I have some book thoughts simmering away on the back burner, I also have some deeper thoughts about idiots, personal choices, and “This Is Your Life” moments percolating on the counter.  I’ll let you know when the rest of the post I’m starting here is ready to go.

If you have thoughts or anecdotes on any of these subjects, please feel free to share.  They’ll help me percolate!

