Saturday evening we walked through a street fair, had dinner at Steak ‘n Shake, and went to Caroline’s Comedy Club to see a live recording of the Adam Carolla Podcast.  This was my idea, since I’m the one who listens to the show, but I brought my boyfriend along and I’m glad to say that he got a kick out of it, too.  I was disappointed that they weren’t taking suggestions from the audience for their “What Can’t Adam Complain About?” segment (I was going to suggest Swiss army knives or urban legends), but they did have an entertaining round of “Totally Topical Tivo Trivia.”  The weirdest part of the experience was seeing the show in a two-drink-minimum comedy club.  I had been to Caroline’s only once before (in its previous location), and that was when I was a freshman in college and I bought tickets to go see Emo Phillips with some of my friends.  So at that time, our drinks were sodas and they were still quite expensive.  Last night we were having surprisingly strong cocktails, and they were about as pricey as we expected.  Although I was pleasantly surprised to receive a free Caroline’s mug with my purchase of an Irish coffee.  Score!!!

Today I visited my mother in the morning and then we went out for a Father’s Day meal with my boyfriend’s family at Antonio’s Trattoria in the Belmont section of the Bronx.  Which is one of the only neighborhoods where you might walk into a giglio on the street

Anyway, the food was spectacular as always.  We had mozzarella garlic bread, meatballs, clams oreganata, calimari, and pizza for starters.  Then we had some lovely main courses — I had shrimp Francese, and my boyfriend had a pork chop with hot cherry peppers.  And somehow we found room for some Nutella pizzas for dessert.  And our group was so big that we were comfortably distant from some of my boyfriend’s more … eccentric family members.  So THAT was definitely a plus!

For the rest of the week, I have some things on my schedule that are definitely set in stone.  Monday morning I have a chiropractor’s appointment, and Wednesday evening I’m going to a movie screening.  I might have another chiropractor’s appointment on Wednesday morning, but I’m not sure yet (she keeps saying that we’ll reduce the appointments to once a week VERY SOON).  Then I need to schedule stuff I need to do, like cooking / laundry / writing an app review, and stuff I want to do, like photographing City Island and Riverside Park.  Stay tuned for stories and pictures!

