I’m trying to think of just how busy this week was, and it seems that it was so busy that everything just blurred together and I’m having trouble remembering specific details.  Does that make any sense?  I know that we had several days that we expected to be short-staffed, and several days that we were short-staffed at the last minute (surprise!)  So basically we spent more hours covering the desk than usual, and more of those hours were filled with helping a never-ending line of people.  Several of my colleagues and I were waxing nostalgically over the concept of “down time” at the desk.  Plus, now that we’re all at the same desk, the clerks are having to deal with longer questions than before (the ones they used to always refer to us) and the librarians are having to deal with a much higher volume of patron interactions than before (I now spend the majority of my time doing “clerical stuff” like checking materials in and out, registering people for library cards, etc.)  So when I needed to work on “librarian stuff” like preparing for a book list meeting or a booktalking presentation, I had to do a lot of that during my lunch hour and break at the branch or work on it at home.

On a related note, I just finished writing (and then recording) a booktalk for Anya’s Ghost by Vera Brosgol, which is one of my favorite graphic novels EVER.  I was invited to booktalk at a DOE meeting next week, and we all had to choose titles from this year’s teen summer reading list.  As soon as I saw the list I started gravitating towards Anya’s Ghost, because, as I mentioned, I loved it to pieces.  But I had to wait to hear back from my fellow booktalkers who took WEEKS to get back to me about which books they were choosing, so it was only a few days ago that I knew that I could present this book and then the rereading / writing / memorizing process could begin.  Anyway, if you know any teens who already like graphic novels, who have never read a graphic novel before but would like to try one, who like ghost stories, who like realistic fiction stories about unsympathetic characters who grow and mature into something better … well, you can give all of them copies of Anya’s Ghost.

And then when you’re finished doing your literary good deed for the day, you can relax and rock out with the ridiculous.  That’s right, it’s time to sing, dance, yell, and get buried in tribbles with that toe-tapping musical number Trekkies and We Know It.  And hey, it’s captioned so everyone can sing along!  Woo-Hoo!  p.s. – Thanks to Hawk for the link!!!

