I finally got my prescription coverage issues sorted out and was able to pick up my bottle of Meloxicam.  After taking it for two days, I started feeling a little … strange.  Like my face and my hands were feeling numb and/or puffy, and I just started feeling wonky all over.  After carefully reading through the ginormous list of side effects, I decided to lower my dosage to half a pill a day.  My goal is to get some anti-inflammatory goodness while stopping my side effects from progressing to the “vomit that looks like coffee grounds” stage. And no, I’m not kidding about that being one of the side effects.

I’ve had three visits to the chiropractor so far.  On the positive side, my sharp/stabbing back pain has decreased by a large degree.  On the not-so-positive side, my back still stiffens up a LOT, and progress of the spine-cracking procedures is slow-going indeed.  Stuff she says shouldn’t hurt DOES hurt, and it just feels like there is so much tension in my spine that it is VERY resistant to change.  So I’ve started taking her advice about other ways to deal with my stiffness and pain.

  • I’ve started taking baths with epsom salts.
  • I’m taking B complex vitamins several times a day.
  • I’m trying my best to CAREFULLY do some back stretches, especially in the shower.

I have tomorrow off, so I’m hoping to get a little more work done on improving my back while catching up on my chores.  I really need to get some laundry done, so I’m going to see if I can carry one load down to the laundry room without throwing off my alignment.  I have several books that I’ve been trying to finish.  I have to put my next podcast episode together.  And … uhm … I still have to do my taxes.  Hey, give me a break — it’s been a rough couple of weeks!!!

