Remember that class that cancelled their visit to my library with absolutely no warning?  Well, they showed up the following week … with absolutely no warning.  I guess they assumed we had a very flexible “stroll in anytime” schedule.

One of the extra-creepy results of our catalog system demanding that we verify patron information more frequently was this line I got last week from the guy standing in front of me at the desk: “Now remember, I don’t want you taking advantage of me, now that you have my phone number!  Because I’m too old for you!”  I smiled and nodded politely, biting my tongue so that I wouldn’t say something like, “Yes, you ARE too old.  And while we’re on the subject, you’re also too clueless and too LAME.”

I heard someone singing to herself in our children’s restroom.  I figured that it was a kid, or maybe a teenager, enjoying the lovely acoustics.  Imagine my surprise when I saw a woman who looked like she was MY age walking out!

We were contacted by our local newspaper (the one that costs money, not the free one), asking to interview staff members for a piece that they’re writing about Mr. H.  I spoke to a reporter for several minutes on the phone today, but I don’t know how much of what I said is actually going to make it into the article.  I only heard the tell-tale clicking of computer keys after I said that Mr. H.’s passing was the end of an era for our library system.  The reporter also found the podcast episode that I dedicated to Mr. H. (Oh, right.  Other people know how to use Google, too!) so I guess it’s possible that something I said there might also be mentioned.

Oh, and in non-library-related news, I can tell you that I’m working on a top-secret project that will be revealed on April Fool’s Day.  I can tell you that it’s a collaborative project.  And that’s all I’m going to tell you 🙂

