Be prepared, Dear Readers.  If you don’t want to get any podcast recommendations, or if you already think that you listen to “too many” podcasts, then you might want to skip this post altogether.

You have been warned.

Okay, so I first started listening to podcasts several years ago, coincidentally around the same time that I started appearing on them.  I wanted to see what the competition was like, and I wanted to learn by example what to do and what NOT to do.  Several times a year, I tend to look through my podcast subscriptions and I start weeding out the ones that I don’t like anymore.  Actually, there have been several reasons that I’ve unsubscribed from podcasts — I don’t like the new direction they took, they’ve moved from a free to a premium model, or they’ve started issuing episodes so infrequently that it’s not worth my iPod space to keep up with them anymore.  Since I started listening to podcasts, I have unsubscribed from over a dozen of them on iTunes.  And yet this week, after I added some new podcasts based on recommendations I found in an online discussion group, I discovered that my podcast subscription list is now at an insanely robust 58.

I know, right?  How the hell do I find the time to listen to 58 podcasts?  Well, I can break it down a little bit this way.  I listen to podcasts every day — commuting to and from work, on my lunch hour, while I’m shopping, as I’m doing the laundry, and even when I go to sleep at night.  Most of these podcasts update weekly, some update daily, but some update monthly or very infrequently.  Most of these podcasts can go on indefinitely, but some are covering a finite amount of material, so they will probably be winding down within the next year.  Some of these podcasts are less than five minutes per episode … although a few of them regularly hit the two-hour mark (OOF!)  Also, I don’t listen to every episode of every podcast.  If an episode focuses on a topic that doesn’t interest me, I’ll give it a few minutes to see if the presentation will change my mind, and if it still doesn’t interest me then I’ll just end up deleting that episode without listening to the rest of it.

I will also say that I no longer listen to satellite radio because I just don’t have the frigging time anymore.  Of course, I did get a lifetime subscription to Sirius a while back, so if I ever DO decide that I’m in a nostalgic mood and I need to listen to 80’s pop music, classic rock, or Howard Stern, I still have that option.

What follows will be a list of the podcasts that are currently on my iPod.  Like I said, six months or a year from now a lot of these will probably be different, but this list will give you a good time-capsule view of what I’m listening to right now. I’m not going to describe each one because … well, otherwise we’re going to be here all day.  But if you have questions or comments about any of these, tell me in the comments and we can go into more detail about the ones that interest you.  And if you have suggestions about any OTHER podcasts that you think I should listen to … uhm … don’t tell me???

No, I’m kidding.  You can tell me.  But I’m not going to subscribe to anything new until I’ve unsubscribed from at least one of the podcasts on my current list.  I mean, there’s only so much room in my brain, after all …

The Adam Carolla Podcast

Advice Hot Dog

APM: The Dinner Party Download

The Apple Sisters

Apps For Kids

Bad Movie Fiends

Be a Better Booktalker

Bill Burr’s Monday Morning Podcast

Booktalks Quick and Simple

The Bugle Podcast

Bullseye With Jesse Thorn

The Chronic Rift

Cinefantastique Podcast

Comedy Bang Bang

Comedy Film Nerds

The Film Sack Podcast

Fitzdog Radio

The Fringe Podcast

GameCritics.com Podcast

Geek Radio Daily

The Greatest Movie EVER! Podcast

Guys Can Read

Gweek (BoingBoing)

How Did This Get Made?

The H.P. Lovecraft Literary Podcast

Hunger Games Fan Podcast

The Incomparable

The Jeff Rubin Jeff Rubin Show!

The Kingdom of Loathing Podcast

The Long Shot Podcast

Mighty Movie Podcast

The Nerdist

Never Not Funny

NPR: Wait Wait … Don’t Tell Me!

NPR: Culturetopia / Pop Culture Happy Hour

Onion Radio News

The Overthinking It Podcast

The Pod F. Tompkast

Podcast Answer Man

Pop My Culture

Proudly Resents: The Cult Movie Podcast

Text Messages: Recommendations For Adolescent Readers

Retroist Podcast

RISK!

Stop Podcasting Yourself

Stuff You Missed in History Class

The Sword and Laser Podcast

thirtyfifteennorth (HG World)

This American Life

This Week With Larry Miller

The Thrilling Adventure Hour

The Todd Glass Show

Video Games Hot Dog

Wiretap (CBC Radio)

WNYC’s Radiolab

WTF With Marc Maron

Yeah, It’s That Bad

The 40 Year Old Boy