Our patrons can’t get enough of our shiny new DVD collection, and they check out movies by the armful.  It’s sometimes bewildering to see what movies they check out and return together.  The other day a guy was returning a bunch of DVDs including Pontypool, which was one of the most incredible, thought-provoking, and TERRIFYING films I’ve seen in years.  He was also returning … wait for it … The Hottie and the Nottie, which is one of the STUPIDEST films I’ve seen in years.  What kind of a mental patient would watch both of those films???

Oh, wait a minute …

A guy had called ahead to request a copy of Are You There God, It’s Me, Margaret? by Judy Blume.  Except when he showed up at the branch, he phrased it a little differently.  What he said was, I’m here for “OH MY GOD MARGARET!!!”

Our lovely new building is becoming a home for some very un-lovely bugs.  When I saw this terrifying creature trying to leap out of the bathroom sink to attack me:

I almost fainted.  Well, I might have, except it’s becoming old hat by now.  You see, I killed one of its relatives in the same sink several weeks ago.  Still and all, it IS pretty alarming.

Oh, and I have a bonus question: what the hell IS that thing?  I mean, it’s too wide to be a centipede, right?  My boyfriend thinks it’s a silverfish, but I’m not sure if that’s correct.

On the plus side, I did have a sweet experience recently.  A kid came up to me while I was working at the desk in the Children’s Room.  She asked me for paper and a pencil and went away.  Then she asked me for a piece of tape and went away again.  Then she came back, taped something up next to my desk, and went away again.  I turned to see what it was, and discovered a very cute drawing.  The girl’s mother then came up to me to tell me that her daughter was very shy, and that she had made that drawing as a present for me.  I thanked both of them and took the drawing and put it on the computer monitor where all the staff could enjoy the adorability factor:

Okay, Dear Readers.  So now that I’ve got the identification portions of your brains activated … what do you think THIS is?  Do you agree with me that this is the mutant offspring of a chicken and a teddy bear, or do you have another theory?

