In addition to catching up on lots of podcasts this weekend, I got to catch up on lots of videos that I needed to get back to the library and to Netflix, and I even read a whole book!  Go me!

2012 – The reviews were right; the plot was doofy and hilarious, but the special effects were pretty cool.  And yes, it was particularly surreal to be watching this movie during a hurricane.

Frankenstein Island – The first movie made by Jerry Warren since The Wild World of Batwoman, using several of the actors who appeared in that film?  A film made in 1981 that feels like it was made in 1961?  I ordered this from Netflix based on the description from the book Showgirls, Teen Wolves, and Astro Zombies: A Film Critic’s Year-Long Quest to Find the Worst Movie Ever Made saying how totally ridiculous it was.  And yes, I can indeed confirm that this film was totally ridiculous.

Titus season 3 – I watched this show when it was originally on FOX, and I loved it to pieces. I heard an interview with Christopher Titus on the WTF podcast a while back that made me want to watch the show again, and especially to catch up with some of the episodes that I missed during the original run.  This show was hilarious, and Stacy Keach was so funny on this show that I can’t even find the words to describe him.

Law & Order: UK and The Hour – I’d recorded these shows on BBC America, and had been waiting for the time to watch them.  Law & Order: UK is still a good show, even though they lost my beloved James Steel character (*SIGH*).  The Hour started off slowly, but gained momentum as it went along.  I plan to stick it out for the 6-episode run.

The Magician King: A Novel by Lev Grossman – This is the sequel to The Magicians, which is one of my favorite fantasy novels EVER.  I enjoyed this sequel for many of the same reasons that I loved the original — excellent writing, amazing world-building, and a story rooted in the Narnia mythos.  I wish I’d reread The Magicians first, because it was difficult for me to throw my mind back to the original book and remember all the original plot elements.  But anyway, while I didn’t enjoy this book quite as much as the original, it was still a very worthy sequel.

