So yesterday and today as I’ve been flipping through the channels I’ve seen several listings for Sgt. Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club Band on the Ovation channel.  Now to be fair, I’m probably one of only a handful of people who would have the slightest interest in watching that film, because I’m a big fan of bad movies in general and bad musicals in particular.  I mean, if I could have an all-day marathon of Sextette, Can’t Stop the Music, Sincerely Yours, and Lost Horizon I would be absolutely delighted.  Okay, my brain would probably have dissolved into mush by the end of it, but I’d still be delighted.

Anyway, every time I’ve stopped to check out the film, I’ve discovered that the listing was WRONG.  Yesterday they showed Xanadu TWICE, which although it is technically a bad movie musical it isn’t one of the ones I want to watch too often because watching Gene Kelly act and dance his way through that dreck just makes me sad.  Today I saw that Sgt. Pepper was listed again … and discovered that what they were really showing was a documentary starring Neil Young (Neil Young: Heart of Gold, perhaps???)

Anyway, the upshot of all this is that I am once again missing the opportunity to see a rare combination of unique talent (Peter Frampton, The Bee Gees, Aerosmith, Alice Cooper, Steve Martin, George Burns, Donald Pleasence, and some completely awesome Beatles music) work its way through a cinematic blender and turn into a smoothie of pure ridiculousness.

Oh, well.  At least I can watch the finale of the movie on YouTube for the most incredible two minutes of surreal guest appearances that I’ve ever seen.  Hold on to your wigs and keys, folks …

