A private meeting / discussion took place this week, the main upshot of which is that I’m not going to be written up, or fired, or demoted, or transferred.  The secondary upshot is that I have some Deep Thinking to do about some of my personality traits which I thought were assets but which apparently can be seen as flaws by other people, about behaviors I learned from childhood that I find nearly impossible to shake off decades later, and about what it feels like to have a painfully personal criticism come from a workplace associate and suddenly flash back to a similar conversation during an argument with my then-but-not-for-much-longer boyfriend over a decade ago.

There’s either a future blog post in this, or thousands of dollars to be spent with an analyst in a voyage of self-exploration.

I think I’ll go with the blog post.

Stay tuned.

