… made it most of the way there, and then WHAM, stumbled and fell on the sidewalk right in front of the door.  Which was convenient, because then several nice passengers were able to run down the steps and help me up and help me gather my belongings from the sidewalk.  My belongings included several tote bags containing library books, DVDs, Pyrex food containers full of frozen meals, and a brand-new toaster.  Which is usual for my weekly visits to my mother’s place.  Well, everything except for the toaster, but her old one stopped working and she needed a replacement.

Anyway, I managed to break my fall with:

my right hand

my right elbow

my right knee

my left knee

and my right foot

So right now I look like crap, I feel like crap, I’m holding an ice pack with my right hand (it hurts every time I move my right thumb, which probably isn’t a good sign), and I’m typing with my left hand (so it’s taking FOREVER).

Luckily the heat wave has broken for now, because I won’t be able to wear short skirts for a while without showing off my goose egg-sized multicolored swelling on my knee and inviting comments like, “What the hell happened to YOU?”

Yeah, this is going to be a fun week.

