This morning we didn’t know if our refrigerator was working or not.  We think it developed a short last night, and various parts of it were dying and coming back to life for several hours.  It’s hard to be sure if our perishable items have perished or not, and safety is a major concern.

This morning my boyfriend’s father went to the hospital suffering from (as yet undiagnosed) chest pains.  He’s still there now.

This morning when I got to work I was greeted by the sound of yet another mysterious alarm going off, and it took an hour and a half of incessant beeping before we learned how to disable it.  It didn’t help my headache any remembering that there was a facilities guy in the building a week ago who was going to tell me how to shut off the alarm in case of an emergency until he learned that I wasn’t the person in charge, and he was only authorized to tell that person.

The day was busy, busy, and insanely busy.  I spent over 20 minutes just picking up books that children had left scattered all over the floor of our comfy seating area.  And I’m not even going to discuss the guy who needed a school bus mechanical diagram that we couldn’t find … who didn’t think that people should have to pay for replacement library cards or for copies … who wanted a state tax form from 2009 but who didn’t know what form number he needed or even that different form numbers EXISTED …

And then I just discovered this evening that the email I sent this morning after we finally silenced the alarm about how we needed to improve communication about things both big and small was … well, I’m just going to say “not well-received” and leave that as an understatement.

I am totally depressed now.  I’m going to bed, and I’ll see if the world looks any better tomorrow.

