Okay, maybe I was a little hard on the hatchet team.

Because these were the very people who ordered material for our new building, and who stood up for us when certain administrators told us that we wouldn’t be allowed to put ANY of our old books on our new shelves.  They were sympathetic to our struggles with the ever-changing rules, and supportive of our efforts to spirit our favorite books away to other branches.  They also told me that they were going to entrust me with the weeding of my own section.

Oh … crap.

Well, on the one hand it’s nice to know that people think you’re responsible enough to do something.  On the other hand, weeding my section made my final day in the building about twice as busy as I’d expected.  And, you know, it also gave me that whole “Sophie’s Choice” vibe.  The silver lining behind that cloud was that as I weeded I got to “rescue” more books, some of which will be making their way to a shelf near you.  I reassigned a bunch of poetry books (Walter Dean Myers, E.E. Cummings, Billy Collins, Cynthia Rylant, Pablo Neruda), reading list titles (When I Was Puerto Rican, The Autobiography of Malcolm X, Stick Figure: A Diary of My Former Self), and some of my favorite booktalk titles (Bat Boy Lives!, Mommy Knows Worst, I Can’t Keep My Own Secrets).

Anyway, so now we’re officially out of the old branch, except we’re really not.  We’re going to be going back and forth taking the last of our files, cleaning out our desks, and saying our goodbyes to the old homestead.  I walked around at the end of the day taking pictures with my iPod for my virtual scrapbook:

