Friday night we recorded a podcast, which was both agita-inducing and loads of fun.

Saturday I visited my mother, did some shopping, came home, and watched a bunch of season 1 episodes of Fringe (because The Fringe Podcast has been reminding me how many things that are going on in the show right now were originally referenced in earlier episodes).

Today we went to brunch, did some shopping, and then did a bunch of household stuff.  I did some laundry and performed the weekly maintenance on the humidifier while my boyfriend vacuumed and washed the floors.  Then we relaxed for a while, during which time my boyfriend kept flipping back and forth between the 25th anniversary performance of Les Miserables on PBS and Axe Men on the History Channel (and I got mental whiplash each time he changed the channel).  Then I watched the documentary Exit Through the Gift Shop and finished reading the fantasy novel Among Others by Jo Walton, whose protagonist is a teenage girl who loves to lose herself in books and spends lots of time at the library.  Here’s a favorite quote for all the library fans in the house:

Interlibrary loans are a wonder of the world and a glory of civilization.

Libraries really are wonderful.  They’re better than bookshops, even.  I mean bookshops make a profit on selling you books, but libraries just sit there lending you books quietly out of the goodness of their hearts.

Now I’m watching season 2 of Dollhouse on DVD.  I watched this show on TV originally, but I missed a few episodes so now I’m revisiting it.  Watching it again reminds me how cool this show was.

