Q: How many books are on my desk at work right now, waiting for me to read them?

A: This morning it was sixteen.  This afternoon it was fifteen.  And that’s not even counting all the books that I need to read at home.  Some of them are graphic novels and many of them are children’s and young adult books, but it’s still going to take me a while to get through them.  Yeesh!

Q: How many books with “foreign” property labels can a dozen Teen Advisory Group members find and pull from our shelves in half an hour?

A: Enough to fill SEVEN book trucks.  That’s in the neighborhood of around 600 books.  Did I mention that our massive weeding project is a much harder undertaking than it should be when we are getting a CONSTANT influx of materials from other branches clogging our shelves?  Thank you, floating collections policy!

Q: How do I know that people actually read this blog?  I mean yes, I can go to my WordPress dashboard and see the numbers on the bar graph to see how many views I get every day.  And yes, I can read the comments that my Dear Readers leave for me.  But how ELSE do I know?

A: I opened my inter-office mail today to discover an advance reader’s copy of Rage by Jackie Morse Kessler!  Woo-Hoo!!!  Hopefully I’ll enjoy this book as much as I enjoyed Hunger, which I reviewed here a little while ago.  Many thanks to my benefactor for the gift!!!

Q: What do librarians wear under all their layers during the winter months?  What secret articles of clothing would surprise their patrons?  Get your minds out of the gutter; it’s not what you think …

A:

Much like looking at the cartoons over my desk or smelling the lovely shampoo or perfume I’m wearing, it’s a little something that picks my spirits up during the day.   When I’m tired and worn-out at work, I’ll take all the morale boosts that I can get!

