Hmmm … my first sentence was going to be “It’s been a long week,” but that can’t possibly be right since it’s only Monday.  Maybe it’s been a long weekend, or maybe I’m thinking about last week.

So I finally (after, like, two months) finished watching the DVDs of Thriller with Boris Karloff.  The good episodes were really good, but the bad episodes were either boring or aggravating.  Anyway, for all of you librarians in the house, check out the last disc of season 2.  The penultimate episode “The Lethal Ladies” features a mousy librarian who seeks revenge on someone who wronged her.

*diabolical laughter*

But seriously, though, I would only buy this set if you definitely have enough money and shelf space for it.  Otherwise go and rent it or check it out from your local library.  That way you can enjoy the good episodes but you won’t feel bad about wasting money on the bad ones.  Oh, and by my estimation about 2/3 of the episodes range from good to fantastic and about 1/3 of them are not worth watching, if that helps you make your decision.

I read a ton of stuff over the last week.  Stuff for a blog post that will be going up on our staff website this week, stuff for my podcast, stuff for fun, plus I reread Harry Potter & the Deathly Hallows.  All in all, it was probably too much stuff to fit into my brain all at once.

So come to think of it, I was busy this weekend, too.  Saturday I worked, and then after work I went home and then took the subway downtown to see Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows with hundreds of screaming fans who laughed and cheered and sighed in all the right places.  Then on Sunday I visited my mother, went out to brunch with my boyfriend, and then came home to record a guest appearance on a film review podcast (not my usual show, but one that is tangentially connected to us) to discuss the Harry Potter film.  And yes, that’s the only reason I went to see that film with those screaming teenagers the night before, in case you were wondering.  I’m not normally nuts enough to fight through the crowds to see a blockbuster movie on its opening weekend.  Anyway, that experience was both fun and high-stress at the same time.  I was panic-stricken about trying to hold my own in a conversation with Serious Film Reviewers, but I basically tried to approach the whole thing from the perspective of a young adult librarian who was familiar with the books/films/etc. as well as with young people’s perspectives on the Harry Potter phenomenon.  So anyway, I think I did okay.  They did invite me back again to talk about HP&TDH part 2 in July, so I’m assuming that I didn’t suck too badly.  Either that or they were just being polite.  Well, if you’re interested in our lively discussion about the Harry Potter film and would like to listen to the podcast, let me know and I’ll email you the link.  Providing, of course, that I trust you with my Secret Identity.

Today we had a program for our teens in which they learned to paint on silk.  I don’t know why I thought painting on silk would be any less disastrous than any other time I’ve tried painting, but I tried it anyway.  And I now have a piece of silk with the image of what looks like a paramecium that’s surrounded by confetti.  Or maybe a paramecium that’s exploding.  I’m not kidding when I tell you that my artistic talents would fit in a thimble.  Well, now I have this piece of painted silk but I don’t know what to do with it.  I could give it to my boyfriend as a present, but I think he would be insulted.

Tomorrow I have Special Dispensation to come to work early to weed my collection.  You know, when I started working for the library I never imagined that the day would come when I would be so happy that I was *allowed* to come in early to weed my shelves!  Well, I won’t answer the phone or turn on the lights because we wouldn’t want the patrons getting UPSET that there are staff members in the building more than one hour before the library opens to the public.  I will put on my headphones, listen to to my podcasts, and wrestle my collection back into shape by the light of the morning sun.

So … why does doing what we USED to do feel like progress?

Well, turning back to happier subjects, today I read this article by Marc Maron from Saveur magazine about Thanksgiving, about food, and about dysfunctional family relationships.  It appealed to me on several levels.  Enjoy!

And while we’re on the subject, Happy Thanksgiving!!!  I hope that everyone enjoys multiple helpings of  their favorite foods (and takes minute samples of their least favorite foods just to be polite) and that everyone has fun visiting with their family members (or at the very least surviving the encounter and then coming home to unwind with an Irish coffee or two).

