Saturday night I didn’t have a care in the world, other than my looming book review and booktalk deadlines.  Sunday morning I started sneezing intermittently and I was feeling a little congested.  By Sunday evening the congestion was spreading to the inner recesses of my skull, and I was developing a full-blown sore throat.

And to add insult to injury … wait, I mean to add INJURY to injury … my sleeping with the heating pad the night before had resulted in tragic consequences.  Yes, there’s a reason the instructions always say that you should never use the heating pad while you sleep, but if you’re like me you’ve probably done it many times before with no ill effects.  That being said … Sunday morning I felt this weird sensation on the back of my shoulder.  I couldn’t figure out what was wrong, and it was hard for me to see the spot that was hurting, so I went into the bathroom to examine my shoulder in the mirror.  And that was when I learned, to my horror, that a quarter-sized patch of skin had been BURNED AWAY.  How I didn’t notice this happening while I slept is alarming.  And speaking of alarming, my boyfriend helped to clean my wound when he came home, and I almost hit the ceiling when the iodine antiseptic solution first touched my skin.  Yikes!!!

Anway, so I woke up this morning feeling like I had been run over by a steamroller.  But since I was scheduled to visit several classes at a local school this morning and I had a program at the library this afternoon, calling out sick was not an option.  So I struggled through the day to the best of my ability — the lowest point was when I basically had to give up on one of the classes.  On a regular day when I’m in good health, if I’m having trouble with an easily-distracted class (sleeping, talking, goofing off, talking back to me during my presentation), I’m usually able to get the class back under control.  The way that I accomplish this uses a combination of an iron will, pointed silences, and raising my voice.  But unfortunately today my will was mush, I couldn’t raise my voice, and my pointed silences were ruined by coughing fits followed by me gulping from my thermos of herbal tea.  So basically I just had to give up and let the class go early instead.

Then I got back to the branch, ate lunch and made some more herbal tea (note: at this point I am officially sick to death of herbal tea).  My congestion was getting worse, so I checked in my locker to see if I had any leftover cold and flu stuff.  I found an old bottle of Dayquil which had expired in … 1998.  I kid you not.  Have I mentioned before that I don’t get sick that often?  I really don’t!

That being said, I’m probably going to end up dipping into my hundreds of hours of sick leave some time this week.  I don’t know when exactly.  It will depend on whichever day I most feel like I’ve been run over by a steamroller.  My boyfriend just got me some Progresso soups and a new box of tissues, so I am ready to begin the healing process.

BONUS: Extra-credit goes to whomever can explain to the group why horses have a reputation for being healthy and dogs have a reputation for being sick.  I’d look it up myself, but I need to go lie down for a while.

