I’m almost 100% back in work mode, but not entirely.  That’s normal, right?  Isn’t there some kind of “jet lag” to “vacation lag” correlation?  I kind of feel like I need another vacation already, so thank goodness for the long holiday weekend coming up.  But after Labor Day when the kids go back to school, and we start to go through the 3-5 pm “hell hours” again?  Oh man, it ain’t gonna be pretty.

Mr. X stopped by the branch the other day, which is always a mixed bag of happiness, poignancy, and agitation.  The minute he walks into the building, the patrons are drawn to him like moths to a flame.  They all want to talk to him about how he’s doing, or how they’re doing, or just make some kind of connection with him.  One of the patrons started telling him a joke about Adam and Eve, and it didn’t go the way that I expected.  His joke was that Eve hears someone walking around in the garden of Eden, and she says, “Adam, is that you?” and Adam replies, “Who else?”  The joke I was thinking of was rather cruder, but to be fair it’s the only joke I know about Adam and Eve (What did Adam say to Eve?  “Stand back, I don’t know how big this thing gets!”)

Yeah, you’re right.  That was totally inappropriate for a library environment.  Let’s move on.

So one of the downsides of a visit from Mr. X is that he gets to share his latest paranoid theories with us, which leave me feeling nervous and uneasy.  Is it really possible that our new branch manager won’t be appointed until our new building opens?  Well, that would be particularly cruel, since that might not be happening for another year.  Is it possible that a recent all-staff email about communicating with the press of any kind, including bloggers, is a warning to people like ME?  My immediate reaction was, “No, of course not!” but as the paranoia began to infect my system like a slow-moving virus, my reaction escalated to, “Christ, I HOPE not!” and “Oh my God, do I need to reread every word I’ve ever written?” and “If I lost my job, how long could I support myself?”

Some of our catalog/tech higher-ups came to visit the branch last week.  I wasn’t even sure if I was going to be able to sit in on the meeting, but at the last minute I found out that I could.  On several occasions, people addressed me like they knew who I was, even though I had no idea who they were.  So I tried to listen intelligently and nod in the right places while casually peeking at their IDs.  It turns out that these were the guys who had been the recipients of some of my … uh … NUMEROUS email complaints about cataloging issues, Millennium issues, and more.  I found the entire experience both flattering and panic-inducing.  I wonder if their reaction was more along the lines of, “Oh, Lord.  There’s the one who never stops complaining” or “Oh, good.  Here’s the one who has a brain in her head and who cares enough to try to make things better.”  Well, I did manage to make them laugh a few times, so that’s always a plus.  So in case they were ticked off at me before, hopefully they’re a little less ticked off now.

I’ve been suffering from what my doctor has diagnosed as BPPV off and on for the last few years.  It’s a kind of vertigo in which each bout is REALLY traumatic for about a minute at a time, but which isn’t supposed to be dangerous or life-threatening.  Unless, of course, it hits me while I’m standing at the top of the stairs, or crossing the street, or stepping down off of a high chair, for example.  Anyway, it’s the “off and on” part that’s been making me especially screwy lately.  It started off by happening maybe three times in a five-year period, but then recently it’s been happening with increasing frequency.  And one of the biggest problems is that the method that is supposed to alleviate the symptoms (by causing the loose particles to get back to the correct part of my inner ear) works by first causing the vertigo symptoms to return worse than ever.  It’s all over in a matter of minutes, but it still scares the hell out of me.  Every time I see the room spinning, I want to scream or cry or throw up.  Oh, and to make things more irritating, after performing the Epley Maneuver it’s best not to lie down flat for 24 hours to give gravity a chance to let everything settle.  Which means that I slept in the recliner last night.  Which means that I hardly slept at all.  Bleah.

Okay, I’m not going to end on a downer like that.  Let’s see … something cheerful … cheerful … Okay, how about this: I just got in a new shipment of review books!  Yay!!!  They all look very cool and interesting.  But one of them is based on a book I haven’t read since I was a child, one of them is based on a manga series that I’ve never read, and one of them is based on a book that I haven’t read since I was in high school.  And that was in Latin class, so I can’t actually guarantee that the little I remember about it is completely accurate.

Hang on.  That’s not cheerful at all!

Okay, here we go.  Let’s try this instead … over the weekend, we plan to go shopping at a new fancy-schmancy Italian food emporium called Eataly.  Has anybody else heard of it yet, or been there?  It sounds DELIGHTFUL!

Oh, and one more thing that will help to get me back to my happy place when I’m feeling down … today my boyfriend hooked up the Roku box that he’d ordered online.  This is now enabling us to access streaming video from Netflix on our TV.  He got to watch an episode of  The Rockford Files and I got to watch 30-Second Bunnies Theatre.  Later this week we’ll watch Bullitt together, and as we watch Steve McQueen and his dramatic car chases on the streets of San Francisco, we can smile and hold hands and remember that we were there.

