Today I heard about a great website called Awful Library Books run by two Michigan librarians, and that inspired me to recommend a few of my favorite library humor sites:

Awful Library Books – This one’s a new classic.  These are all books that are currently on library shelves but which REALLY shouldn’t be.  I recognize several of these titles as books that used to be on my shelves (which I weeded because I have sense in my head) or which were on the shelves of libraries I visited.  Come to think of it, I have to check and see if The Billy Ocean Songbook is still in our adult collection.  If it is, I’m going to submit it to this site.

The Laughing Librarian – I don’t visit this site as often as some of the others, but I want to point it out because they have a bunch of links to funny library sites and because they have some cool stuff in the librarism store (I’m the proud owner of one of their “I have secret powers … I’m a librarian!” shirts).

Why You Should Fall to Your Knees and Worship a Librarian – There are many things to enjoy on the Librarian Avengers site, but this is my favorite part.  I’ve had a printout of this page hanging up over my desk for years now.  And yes, they have an online shop so you can buy shirts / tote bags / etc.

Unshelved – The library-oriented daily comic strip about a young adult librarian named Dewey and the rest of the staff at the Mallville Public Library.

Post Some F—ing Cataloguers! – This is a LiveJournal community of  “lolbrarians.”  If you’re one of those people that loves “I Can Has Cheezburger” humor, then this is the site for you.  I’m more of a Cute Overload fan myself, but they don’t have a librarian equivalent.

Shelf Check – Comic strip / blog about public library service.  Sadly, I know a lot of these patrons.

Librarian Trading Cards – Okay, this isn’t so much ROTFL funny as “oh what a cute idea” funny.  But I do think that it’s a cute idea.

Cafepress Librarian Gifts – Looking at this list, I see a bunch of stuff I’ve received as presents over the years.  Let’s see … I have a “Librarian: The Original Search Engine” shirt, and buttons and magnets with designs like “Actually there ARE stupid questions.  But ask your librarian anyway” and “Don’t make me shush you.”  This site collects products from various websites that sell through cafepress, including several of the other sites on my list, so there’s a wide variety of stuff here (some of which might be NSFW).  Go check out this site and buy some presents for your favorite librarian!!!

Unfortunately, several of the library sites I’d bookmarked in the past, like Ms. Dewey and Warrior Librarian, are no longer in operation.  So this just means one thing — we need more funny library websites!!!

